Photo Gallery Roundup #1

Good evening WOVEMBERISTS! We are so excited about the huge online buzz around WOOL created by your tweets, your messages, your comments here, your likes and shares and the amazing articles you have contributed. Clearly YOU ALL LOVE WOOL AS MUCH AS WE DO! The instagram photo competition is a thing of joy and if you have not searched under the hashtag #wovember2015 on there please do so for an epic, inspiring, collective dose of woolly joy. As promised in our competition guidelines, here is the first of several gallery pick posts. Tonight’s selection chosen by Felix.

First morning of #wovember2015 on the London - Kentish borders

First morning of #wovember2015 on the London – Kentish borders

First up, I love this atmospheric photo by Imke, heralding in the month of WOVEMBER. She has captured a real sense of early morning light and woolly anticipation!

Band of brothers; fiber friends. #WOVEMBER2015 #finefleeces #shetlandsheep

Band of brothers; fiber friends. #WOVEMBER2015 #finefleeces #shetlandsheep

I also love this sheepy image and the others found on Michelle’s instagram feed; they give a lovely sense of Growing Wool as part of daily life and clicking on the sheep led me to Michelle’s blog which I think many WOVEMBERISTS will enjoy as it is about raising sheep on a smallholding in Oregon, US.

Thanks @johnarbontextiles it is taking all my willpower not to drop everything I need to get done and start in on the contents of these boxes! #vestvember #wool #wovember2015

Thanks @johnarbontextiles it is taking all my willpower not to drop everything I need to get done and start in on the contents of these boxes! #vestvember #wool #wovember2015

This image joyously references a thriving contemporary network of wool producers and wool workers. I love how Ysolda (knitwear designer) is dealing here with a massive box of yarn from John Arbon, (yarn-spinner and producer of wondrous textiles) and how she’s used hash-tags to give shout-outs to connected projects like WOVEMBER (ahem) and VESTVEMBER. Ysolda is also rocking an amazing Fair Isle vest here, made of 100 WOOL and spun and machine-knitted in Shetland by Jamiesons of Shetland. Designing with wool, hauling in the wool order, high-fiving comrades in the wool industry and rocking some 100% WOOL knitwear: WOT IS NOT TO LOVE?!

This pair, knit up a few weeks ago, using extra yarn leftover from a pair of "camo" hunting gloves made for my sweetie a couple of years back. The yarn was fully homemade from start to finish: grown, sheared, washed, carded, and spun with a random mix pulled from the range of colors of wool we had at the time. Deep brown heels, toes, and stripes were added here and there to make the yarn go far enough for a full pair.  Next up, the walnut-dyed flammegarn... #wovember2015 #handspun #operationsockdrawer

This pair, knit up a few weeks ago, using extra yarn leftover from a pair of “camo” hunting gloves made for my sweetie a couple of years back. The yarn was fully homemade from start to finish: grown, sheared, washed, carded, and spun with a random mix pulled from the range of colors of wool we had at the time. Deep brown heels, toes, and stripes were added here and there to make the yarn go far enough for a full pair.
Next up, the walnut-dyed flammegarn… #wovember2015 #handspun #operationsockdrawer

Some images just instantly speak of the connections between landscape, wool and knitting and I confess to having a soft spot for socks for this reason. They always suggest walking where sheep grow – especially a pair as warm, rugged and soulful as this. The description for the photo gives context and I love the thrifty detail of designing with stripes to stretch limited supplies of different colours as far as they can go.

this is my entry to #wovember2015 ...still can't believe that I actually knitted nine different socks #knitbritish #knitsharelove #knitting #gbsocksawaykal #wovemberwal

this is my entry to #wovember2015 …still can’t believe that I actually knitted nine different socks #knitbritish #knitsharelove #knitting #gbsocksawaykal #wovemberwal

This sock-mandala by Sigi is magnificent. It’s hard to see all the details in this photo, but if you check out this Ravelry link you can see that Sigi has created a collection of socks, each using a different construction, and each worked in wool from a distinctive sheep breed. A marvelous foray into sock-construction and understanding different types of wool, these joyous little socks map an adventure in sheep and knitting discovery.

My humble Hap in it's cocoon stage. The Hap as an everyday, functional garment captured my imagination after reading about them on Kate Davies' blog. Then there was all the Hap excitement during the Knit British Hapalong. I've knit one where I loved the pattern but not the yarn. I've knit one where I love the yarn but not the pattern so much. And I've knit one where I loved both the pattern and the yarn but it was a gift. So I decided my #wovemberwal project would be to imagine and knit a Hap to suit me. Elements I wanted to include- light yet cozy, functional, simple vertical, colorwork stripes, knit circularly, a Steek for excitement, fringe for fun, and 100% Wool -this being a Wovemberwal project after all. #knitting for #wovember2015

My humble Hap in it’s cocoon stage. The Hap as an everyday, functional garment captured my imagination after reading about them on Kate Davies’ blog. Then there was all the Hap excitement during the Knit British Hapalong. I’ve knit one where I loved the pattern but not the yarn. I’ve knit one where I love the yarn but not the pattern so much. And I’ve knit one where I loved both the pattern and the yarn but it was a gift. So I decided my #wovemberwal project would be to imagine and knit a Hap to suit me. Elements I wanted to include- light yet cozy, functional, simple vertical, colorwork stripes, knit circularly, a Steek for excitement, fringe for fun, and 100% Wool -this being a Wovemberwal project after all. #knitting for #wovember2015

The sense of knitterly adventure continues in this photo by Lynn, featuring a hap of her own design in a cocoon-like (pre-steeking?) stage. I really like the light in this image and the sense of mystery and woolly promise contained in that intriguing bundle of hap.

I love to find small bits of VM in my wool yarn. They remind me that the yarn didn't begin its life in the mill, but being grown and worn by a sheep, protecting it from the elements. I'm sure the sheep who wore this wool in its first life Iooked lovely - I can only hope my finished dress looks half as good! #knitting #wovember2015 #wovember

I love to find small bits of VM in my wool yarn. They remind me that the yarn didn’t begin its life in the mill, but being grown and worn by a sheep, protecting it from the elements. I’m sure the sheep who wore this wool in its first life Iooked lovely – I can only hope my finished dress looks half as good! #knitting #wovember2015 #wovember

Finally, I just adore this photo by Rae. The hand cups the yarn in a way that really celebrates its preciousness, and the little bit of vegetable matter poking out of the ball are a wonderful reminder of the origins of WOOL in sheep and in land. WOVEMBER is all about celebrating that agricultural context of wool and I think that ethos is very beautifully captured here.

Many thanks to everyone entering photos in the WOVEMBER instagram competition – it is truly inspiring to see what WOOL means to YOU! Please note that this roundup only shows a fraction of the amazing submissions we have had so far and that if your entry hasn’t featured in our post today, your photo(s) are still in the running for winning some form of woolly prize! Louise will be back with another round-up next week, so do keep putting your wondrous woolly photos out there, they are magnificent!

This entry was posted by Felicity Ford.

3 thoughts on “Photo Gallery Roundup #1

  1. The photo of the cloudy mists near the sheep pasture, made me think of fluffy fleece. Soft and cuddling the area !

  2. These are all such great pictures, I agree with Barbara about the cloudy mist behind the sheep looking like fleece, but I think the picture of the hand holding the wool with the little bit of something in it is my favourite…I always like seeing pictures of peoples hands but it’s the way she’s gently holding the wool, like you say appreciating it’s “preciousness”.
    Thank you so much for a wonderful first week of Wovember x

Leave a Reply

